Religion Vs Web

The empty hallway

This write up is not intended as an argument or as a food for thought and the like. This is only a little something that came up in my confusing mind and later sorted out for the good.  Before I proceed I can give you a clue on what this no big deal, yet quite a deal issue is all about. It is about a certain event that they undergo before a forthcoming nuptial!!!

India diverse with communities have unique celebrations in each of it. Pag ferra concept is interesting, so is the nalang. Every bidai is emotional and every promise in front of the lord to be for the other is sacred. Pani Grahanam, saptapadi and pratigna karanam are all silent vows.

When this happened, I was staying in a christian communal center for some reason and I like the place for it’s serenity, tidiness and discipline. I wake up everyday for their 6.30 mass. They cater to various religious and non-religious events.

That day also one such event was due. It was a bright day, sun rays peeping in through the side trees, silent breeze, a near perfect day. People have started flocking in. Initially it was all those proud dad’s leaving their elder daughters to attend the event. Till that date even I had not given much thinking to it ( yeah I hail from a different community and  a different bought up). They call this course the ‘pre-cana’ or pre-marriage course. It is a consultation the couple undergo in the catholic church. Wikipedia states, the name was derived from the feast at Cana in Galilee, where Jesus performed the miracle of turning water into wine. Such stories have always intrigued me and I respect the religion for the waterproof way of drafting it and little doubts of if’s but’s and why’s are answered in it beyond doubt. Being a layman, any mention of the holy book, It is the Angels And Demons Story and the Da Vinci Code which filled my mind. The discipline, The faith, The depth, well that counts a lot.

I walked thinking all these to the near by tea shop, which is my normal pit stop. City was waking up into action, gaining energy to cater to the heavy activity level in every field. As I walked back, I was still impressed. The compound was getting filled. But this time, bikes have started ‘vroom-ing’ in and there were girls sitting behind the riders. Now, They did not give any proud dad daughter feel. I wondered for a second like did they come to the same place? And they had indeed.

Watching them is what made me think. You get all information, any querries answered, a click away in the web world. Everyone lives with google. Then, why does the church educate them once again? Earlier things were slow. Now the fast paced life throws challenging grounds on every one to survive. I thought the system should consider a change. Wikipedia had said the duration of such course can be upto 6months, I was glad It was only 3days in this place.

From that very second, I could actually see most of the couple in a euphoric propaganda. Most of their faces did not hide what they thought. They were attending a course of this dimension and why did I feel they looked more towards the break time to be with their partner. They were clinging on too much on each other and a compound full of such people portrayed an embarrassing scene to visitors who came by.

I got only one answer so far. People who knew said, web came yesterday, man was born with a religion. There is a spirit in this system which has successfully survived since decades. It is still the duty of the Church to educate a  couple on the secret behind leading a successful marriage, the secret of adjustments. Web has not overtaken any religion yet. The day this so called euphoria ends, this education helps them live further.

May be they are right as I am not competent to comment about it. But I agreed, web Can not handle the complex human mind and it cannot provide relief in hard situations. Faith keeps man living, web has nothing to do with faith. I think I got an answer.

And, regarding the open display of emotions in that compound, I realized it would be better if the spectators just ignored the same rather than feeling embarrassed as it is a world where everybody is free to live the life the way they desire.

3 thoughts on “Religion Vs Web

  1. Lil feeds to solve the mystery of life..:)
    The place looks so serene, seems even some time spend there would b as good as meditation..

    • empty corridors… green plants…silence and discipline….let ur old days(nah, i dono if they were ur ‘good old days’ flood in :’)

Leave a Reply

